Fourth Schaefer Portrait Challenge

  • Exhib_slideshow_schaeferchallenge_clark_exhibition

    John Yukio Clark. "Grandma's Story." Mixed media.

  • Exhib_slideshow_schaefer_cole

    Peter Shepard Cole. "Self Portrait as Captain James Cook," 2011. Oil on canvas.

  • Exhib_slideshow_exhibition_schaefer_susannelong

    Susanne Long. "Likeness of Jerry/End of Trail," acrylic on canvas.

Slide_prev_over Slide_next_over

May 23, 2012 - September 14, 2012
Honolulu Museum of Art at First Hawaiian Center

Exhibition Overview

This statewide, juried triennial exhibition features artists from the islands of O‘ahu, Maui, Kaua‘i and Hawai‘i along with portrait subjects who live and work in the state and have a significant connection to the artist. The 2012 Challenge comprises 59 works from 57 individual artists. Those familiar with the history of this exhibition look forward to each new incarnation, anticipating a group of new faces who represent the remarkable people of Hawai‘i.

The artists whose works were selected for the 2012 Challenge are bonded by the desire to transpose the human likeness and interpret each sitter through paint, pastel, graphite, watercolor, stone, clay, wood or mixed media into the final result of a finished portrait.

The artists:
Rose Adare, Dion 'Boyett' Aguilar, Gabrielle  Anderman, Daniel Bilmes, Nitya Brighenti, Chris Campbell, Emily Carder, Mike Carroll, Hung Kwai Chan, Ken Charon, Jonathan Yukio Clark, Peter Shepard Cole, Hoaka Delos Reyes, Brentton Demello, Margaret Ezekiel, Stephen Freedman, Ingrid Frégeau, Janice Gail, Stephen Garnin, Lynne Garzino, Bob Getzen, Robert Glick, Tijana Graham, Roberta Griffith, Vince Hazen, Marlene Honma, Robb Jones, Linda Kane, Kathleen Kastles, Ken Kennell, Verdine Kong, Kirk Kurokawa, Howard Lapp, Dennis William Leatherman, Wilton Leauanae, Robert Lober, Susanne Long, Charlie Lyon, Michele Manning, Jacob Arthur Medina, Karen Mortensen, Gerald Murai, Pamela Neswald, Penny Nichols, Patrick Daniel Sarsfield, Boz Schurr, Kirsten Rae Simonsen, Anna Skaradzinska, Nancy Skrimstad, Roger B. Stephens, Wayne Takazono, Steve Vandervort, Albert Weight, Robert Weiss, Billy Welker, Natasha Young, and Patricia Yu.

The jurors:
Sally French (Kaua‘i), Duane Preble (O‘ahu), Michael Takemoto (Maui)

This exhibition was organized by the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and presented in collaboration with the Honolulu Museum of Art.