Catharine E.B. Cox Award Exhibition | Ground: New Work by Charles Cohan

  • Exhib_slideshow_exhibition_cohan_coxaward

    Charles Cohan (from left) "Samish VIII," "Samish XI," and "Samish V" 2016. Intaglio and relief printed woodcut on paper.

November 30, 2017 - March 25, 2018
Honolulu Museum of Art

Exhibition Overview

Honolulu Museum of Art has selected Charles Cohan as the 14th recipient of the Catharine E.B. Cox Award for Excellence in Visual Arts, and his forthcoming exhibition. 

Ground features new work by Cohan, including large-scale prints and print blocks from his Samish series, the horizontal-line images from his Ground series, as well as a collaborative installation with fellow printmaker Abigail Romanchak. Through the exhibition, Cohan contemplates nature’s evolutionary process, and the way memory can sometimes fix that which is in flux. He concentrates on two experiences: the eruption of Mount St. Helens and the removal of trees that, until 2015, grew on his family’s land in Washington State.

In collaboration with Romanchak, Cohan brings focus to the interpretative process of “sensing” seismological phenomena—a practice that connects the geological histories of Samish Island, Washington, where Cohan is from, and Hawaiʻi nei, where Romanchak is from—and a deep sense of loss after the land of his earlier years suddenly no longer matched his memories of that place.

Catharine E.B. Cox was the museum's second director. The Catharine E.B. Cox Award for Excellence in Visual Arts was established in 1985 by the grandsons of Catharine Cox—Charles, Doak and Richard—and is given every two years to a former or current Hawai’i resident. It grants the recipient a one-person exhibition at the museum. 

Past Catharine E.B. Cox Award recipients:

1990 Dorothy Faison
1992 Michael Tom
1994 Laura Smith
1996 Shigeru Miyamoto
1998 Hanae Uechi Mills
2000 Renee Iijima
2002 Yida Wang
2004 Lonny Tomono
2006 Ka'ili Chun
2008 Leland Miyano
2010 Sanit Khewhok
2012 John Tanji Koga
2015 Maya Lea Portner